SAA Capitol Reports « Previous Entries Next Entries »

Legislative Council Study on Shared School District Services Committee Notice/Update

Wednesday, November 23rd, 2022

The Joint  Legislative Council Study Committee on Shared School District Services will meet November 30, 2022 at 10:00 am.  The agenda can be found here. The following proposals will be discussed: ·       LRB-0558/P2, relating to reducing the number of members on the school board of a consolidated school district. ·       LRB-0559/P3, relating to to school and school […]

Senator Darling Resignation

Wednesday, November 23rd, 2022

From …GOP state Sen. Alberta Darling, who led the powerful Joint Finance Committee for a record-tying six terms, announced today she will retire Dec. 1 after 32 years in the Legislature.Her departure will open up a vacancy in her strongly GOP seat representing the Milwaukee suburbs.Darling, 78, didn’t cite a reason in her news […]

Projected Budget Surplus grows to $6.6 Billion

Monday, November 21st, 2022

From …The Evers administration now expects a nearly $6.6 billion budget surplus to end the fiscal year June 30, well above previous expectations that it would come in north of $5 billion.Providing the first look at the 2023-25 budget, the Department of Administration today said it expects an additional $1.5 billion in revenue growth […]

Assembly Dems Hold Leadership Elections Today

Thursday, November 17th, 2022

From …Assembly Dems meet today to elect their slate of leaders for the 2023-24 session.All the incumbents are unopposed in seeking new terms: Minority Leader Greta Neubauer of Racine; Assistant Minority Leader Kalan Haywood of Milwaukee; Caucus Chair Lisa Subeck, Madison; Caucus Vice-chair Jill Billings, La Crosse; Secretary Kristina Shelton, Green Bay; Sergeant-at-arms Lee […]

Senate Minority Leadership Elections

Wednesday, November 16th, 2022

From The Wheeler Report . . . Senate Democrats held leadership elections yesterday. Senate Minority Leader – Melissa Agard Senate Minority Assistant Leader – Jeff Smith Senate Minority Caucus Chair – Chris Larson Senate Minority Caucus Vice-Chair – Dianne Hesselbein

General School Aids Announced

Wednesday, November 16th, 2022

From The Wheeler Report . . . According to a new Legislative Fiscal Bureau memo, “The general school aids appropriation funds equalization, integration (Chapter 220), and special adjustment aids. In 2022-23, $5,201.6 million from the general fund is provided in the general school aids appropriation. Of the total amount of funding provided, 394 of the state’s […]

School Districts Have Much to Consider When Accepting Gifts

Tuesday, November 15th, 2022

From the Legal Side . . . In its most recent Legal Update, the Renning, Lewis & Lacy Law Firm focuses on the legal requirements for school districts to accept and use gifts made by a third party. The SAA regularly receives these legal updates and we believe this is valuable information for SAA members.  […]

Republican Leadership Elections

Friday, November 11th, 2022

From The Wheeler Report . . . SENATE REPUBLICAN LEADERSHIP ELECTIONS Senate President – Chris Kapenga Senate President Pro Tempore – Patrick Testin Majority Leader – Devin LeMahieu Assistant Majority Leader – Dan Feyen Caucus Chair – Van Wanggaard Caucus Vice-Chair – Joan Ballweg ASSEMBLY REPUBLICAN LEADERSHIP ELECTIONS Assembly Speaker – Robin Vos Assembly Speaker […]

Reach Out to Your Legislators

Thursday, November 10th, 2022

With the November election in the rearview mirror, now is the time to pick up the phone and congratulate your legislator(s) on their election victory.  Many of you have new legislators but, even if you don’t, now is a good time to reconnect and renew your relationships. It is crystal clear to me that SAA […]

Republican Lawmakers Meet Today for Leadership Elections

Thursday, November 10th, 2022

From …Assembly and Senate Republicans meet in closed caucus today for leadership elections.On the Senate side, all of the returning members who served in leadership this session are seeking new terms: Majority Leader Devin LeMahieu, of Oostburg; President Chris Kapenga, of Delafield; President Pro Tempore Pat Testin, of Stevens Point; Assistant Majority Leader Dan […]

« Previous Entries Next Entries »