« | Home | »

Republican Lawmakers Meet Today for Leadership Elections

By Dee Pettack | November 10, 2022

From WisPolitics.com …Assembly and Senate Republicans meet in closed caucus today for leadership elections.On the Senate side, all of the returning members who served in leadership this session are seeking new terms: Majority Leader Devin LeMahieu, of Oostburg; President Chris Kapenga, of Delafield; President Pro Tempore Pat Testin, of Stevens Point; Assistant Majority Leader Dan Feyen, of Fond du Lac; and Caucus Chair Van Wanggaard, of Racine.Sen. Joan Ballweg, R-Markesan, is running for the open caucus vice-chair post. She told WisPolitics.com last week she hoped to fill that role and to continue serving on the Joint Finance Committee.Republicans increased their majority by one seat to 22-11 in Tuesday’s elections. There will be five new members to the caucus this session: Rob Hutton, of Brookfield; Rachael Cabral-Guevara, of Appleton; Jesse James, of Altoona; Romaine Quinn, of Cameron; and Cory Tomczyk, of Mosinee.Speaker Robin Vos, R-Rochester, is among the Assembly Republicans who sent their colleagues letters yesterday indicating plans to seek another term.The others were:

Rep. Kevin Petersen, who served as assistant majority leader this session, told WisPolitics.com he’s running for speaker pro tempore.Rep. Cindi Duchow, R-Pewaukee, served as caucus vice-chair this session, and several members expected her to seek another term in the post.The sergeant-at-arms position is open, and several members said Rep. Treig Pronschinske, R-Mondovi, had expressed an interest in that post.Republicans increased their majority by three seats to 64-35 and will have 16 new members this session.The new members are: Joy Goeben, Hobart; Peter Schmidt, Bonduel; Tom Michalski, Elm Grove; Dave Maxey, New Berlin; Amy Binsfeld, of Sheboygan; Ellen Schutt, of Clinton; Scott Johnson, of Jefferson; Jerry L. O’Connor, of Fond du Lac; Nate Gustafson, of Neenah; Ty Bodden, of Hilbert; Amanda Nedweski, of Pleasant Prairie; Karen Hurd, of Fall Creek; Angie Sapik, of Lake Nebagamon; Chanz Green, of Grand View; Nik Rettinger, of Mukwonago; and Bob Donovan, of Greenfield.Dems will caucus next week for leadership positions.

Topics: SAA Capitol Reports, SAA Capitol Reports with Email Notifications, SAA Latest Update | No Comments »

Comments are closed.