« | Home | »

Capitol Update

By Dee Pettack | September 6, 2023

Office of School Safety Update:

This week, the Department of Justice (DOJ) announced that the Office of School Safety (OSS) will continue to remain operational through the end of 2024 due to a one time transfer of $1,340,000 in American Rescue Plan Act dollars to support the operations and programs of the office.  The original request to permanently fund in the biennial budget was unfilled by the Joint Finance Committee.  This commitment in ARPA dollars will extend the operations OSS including the Speak Up, Speak Out 24-hour tipline, critical incident response teams, and threat assessment consultation.  The full release from DOJ can be found here.

2023 Speaker’s Task Force Membership Announcement:

Following the announcement of the Speaker’s Task Forces, membership was recently announced.  The membership of the Task Forces are listed below:

Speaker’s Task Force on Truancy:

Chair: Rep. Amy Binsfeld (R-Sheboygan)

Vice Chair: Rep. Dora Drake (D-Milwaukee)


Rep. Chanz Green (R – Grandview)

Rep. Scott Krug (R – Nekoosa)

Rep. Paul Melotik (R- Grafton)

Rep. Amanda Nedweski (R – Pleasant Prairie)

Rep. Patrick Snyder (R – Schofield)

Rep. Jenna Jacobson (D – Oregon)

Rep. Kristina Shelton (D – Green Bay)

Speaker’s Task Force on Childhood Obesity

Chair: Rep. Karen Hurd (R-Fall Creek)

Vice Chair: Rep. Robyn Vining (D-Wauwatosa)


Rep. Elijah Behnke (R – Oconto)

Rep. William Penterman (R – Columbus)

Rep. Donna Rozar (R – Marshfield)

Rep. Peter Schmidt (R – Bonduel)

Rep. Alex Joers (D – Middleton)

Rep. Melissa Ratcliff (D – Cottage Grove)

Speaker’s Task Force on Human Trafficking:

Chair: Rep. Jerry O’Connor (R-Fond du Lac)

Vice Chair: Rep. Jodi Emerson (D-Eau Claire)


Rep. Ty Bodden (R – Hilbert)

Rep. Barbara Dittrich (R – Oconomowoc)

Rep. Joy Goeben (R – Hobart)

Rep. Rick Gundrum (R – Slinger)

Rep. Scott Johnson (R – Jefferson)

Rep. Jeffrey Mursau (R – Crivitz)

Rep. Jon Plumer (R – Lodi)

Rep. David Steffen (R – Green Bay)

Rep. Paul Tittl (R – Manitowoc)

Rep. Jill Billings (D – LaCrosse)

Rep. Sue Conley (D – Janesville)

Rep. Darrin Madison (D – Milwaukee)

Rep. Shelia Stubbs (D – Madison)

Speaker’s Task Force on Artificial Intelligence

Chair: Rep. Nate Gustafson (R-Neenah)

Vice Chair: Rep. Steve Doyle (D-Onalaska)


Rep. David Armstrong (R – Rice Lake)

Rep. Calvin Callahan (R – Tomahawk)

Rep. Dave Maxey (R – New Berlin)

Rep. Tom Michalski (R – Elm Grove)

Rep. Adam Neylon (R – Pewaukee)

Rep. Angie Sapik (R – Lake Nebagamon)

Rep. John Spiros (R – Marshfield)

Rep. Shannon Zimmerman (R – River Falls)

Rep. Clinton Anderson (D – Beloit)

Rep. Samba Baldeh (D – Madison)

Rep. Tod Ohnstad (D – Kenosha)

Rep. Lori Palmeri (D – Oshkosh)

Topics: Legislative Action, SAA Capitol Reports, SAA Capitol Reports with Email Notifications, SAA Latest Update | No Comments »

Comments are closed.